1914-1918

1914 – 1918 : War of Images – Images of war

From the 28th september 2016 to the 8th january 2017

A co-production by :
Musée Würth France Erstein
The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles
Les Musées de la Ville de Strasbourg

The exhibition, originally entitled World War One: War of Images – Images of War, was designed and produced by The Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles and first shownin Los Angeles (California) and subsequently at the Kemper Art Museum in Saint Louis (Missouri).

Musée Würth is the European and French leg of the exhibition and presents an overview of the iconography of propaganda that flourished between the belligerents during the First World War and a selection of artists’ testimonies.

The project presented in Erstein has been expanded by a regional section produced by Musées de la Ville de Strasbourg: The Other War. Satire and Propaganda in German Illustration.


Félix VALLOTTON
La Tranchée
Swiss (1865-1925)
Woodcut
C’est la guerre ! (1915-1916) : pl. 1
The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles
Donation of Dr. & Mrs. Richard A. Simms

The first large-scale conflict of the 20th century set the stage for experiments in modern methods of destruction. As a result, the final toll of the First World War amounted to 20 million dead, 21 million wounded, and incalculable damage on the battlefields and in the cities of Europe. The collapse of three empires quite simply redrew the map of Europe and of the world.

Harry R. HOPPS
Destroy this Mad Brute – Enlist
USA (1869-1937)
Color lithograph
Ca. 1917
Louis and Jodi Atkin Family Collection
Modern Graphic History Library, Department of Special Collection
Washington University Libraries

An entire generation of artists was directly affected by this war, as was modern culture of the period in its entirety. The final objective of the belligerents was to establish who was going to dominate Europe – politically, economically and culturally – in the 20th century. If, in the decades leading up to the First World War, modern art was an international phenomenon, with artists, works and ideas freely crossing borders, the conflict brought a radical end to this intense artistic exchange, since the front lines not only partitioned nations, but also cultures.

Lucas GRAEFE
Gedrängte Frühjahrsübersicht von Europa im Jahre 1915 /
Chamboulement du panorama de l’Europe au printemps 1915
Musée historique, Strasbourg

This exhibition sets out to explore the First World War from a twofold perspective: the use of propaganda in the conflict and its description by the artists who found themselves on the front lines.
For the belligerent, propaganda has always been a way of circulating the image of itself as a culturally superior nation confronted by a barbaric and backward enemy. For the first time, that propaganda took on a new dimension through popular newspapers and other graphic media, depicting the enemy not only as a military threat, but also as a threat to the very future of European civilisation. Two realities thus lived side by side: on one side, the soldier serving at the front, on the other, a reality manipulated by propaganda, the idealism of which could but very quickly lead to disenchantment, and the war of images ended up in savage collision with the images of war.

The exhibition 1914 – 1918: War of Images – Images of War has been awarded the Label Centenaire.

1914-1918

1914 – 1918 : Guerre d’images – Images de guerre

Du 28 septembre 2016 au 8 janvier 2017

Une co-production :
Musée Würth France Erstein
The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles
Les Musées de la Ville de Strasbourg

L’exposition, dont le titre original est « World War One: War of Images – Images of War », a été conçue et réalisée par The Getty Research Institute à Los Angeles et montrée pour la première fois à Los Angeles (Californie), puis au Kemper Art Museum à Saint Louis (Missouri).

Le Musée Würth constitue l’étape européenne et française de l’exposition et permet ainsi de découvrir l’iconographie de propagande qui a prospéré entre les belligérants durant la Première Guerre mondiale, ainsi qu’une sélection de témoignages d’artistes.

Le projet présenté à Erstein est enrichi par une section régionale réalisée par les Musées de la Ville de Strasbourg : « L’Autre guerre. Satire et propagande dans l’illustration allemande ».

Félix VALLOTTON
La Tranchée
Suisse/Schweiz (1865-1925)                                                                            
Gravure sur bois
C’est la guerre ! (1915-1916) : pl. 1
The Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles
Don du Dr. & Mrs. Richard A. Simms 

Le premier conflit majeur du 20ème siècle a été le théâtre d’expérimentation de techniques modernes de destruction. Ainsi le bilan final de la Première Guerre mondiale fait état de 20 millions de morts, 21 millions de blessés, de dommages incalculables sur les champs de batailles et dans les villes d’Europe. L’effondrement de trois empires a tout simplement redessiné la carte de l’Europe et du monde.

Harry R. HOPPS
Destroy this Mad Brute – Enlist
USA (1869-1937)
Lithographie polychrome
Vers 1917
Louis and Jodi Atkin Family Collection
Modern Graphic History Library, Department of Special Collection
Washington University Libraries

Toute une génération d’artistes a été directement concernée par ce conflit, et par là même toute la culture moderne de l’époque.
L’objectif final des belligérants était de déterminer qui allait dominer l’Europe – politiquement, économiquement, mais aussi culturellement – au 20ème siècle. Si dans les décennies précédant la Première Guerre mondiale, l’art moderne a été un véritable phénomène international, avec des artistes, des œuvres et des idées se déplaçant librement par-delà les frontières, le conflit a mis un terme radical à cet échange artistique intense, puisque les lignes de front ont non seulement cloisonné les nations, mais aussi les cultures.

Lucas GRAEFE
Gedrängte Frühjahrsübersicht von Europa im Jahre 1915 /
Chamboulement du panorama de l’Europe au printemps 1915
Musée historique, Strasbourg

 Cette exposition propose d’examiner la Première Guerre mondiale à travers un double prisme : l’utilisation de la propagande dans le conflit et sa description par les artistes qui se sont retrouvés sur les lignes de front. Depuis toujours, la propagande consistait pour chaque belligérant à diffuser de soi l’image d’une nation culturellement supérieure confrontée à un ennemi barbare et attardé. Pour la première fois, cette propagande prit une nouvelle dimension à travers des journaux populaires et d’autres supports graphiques, en dépeignant l’ennemi non seulement comme un danger militaire, mais également un danger pour l’avenir même de la civilisation européenne.

Deux réalités vécurent ainsi en parallèle : d’un côté, les soldats qui servaient au front, de l’autre une réalité mise en scène par la propagande, dont l’idéalisme ne pouvait engendrer que très rapidement le désenchantement : ainsi la guerre d’images finit-elle par entrer brutalement en collision avec les images de guerre.

 L’exposition « 1914 – 1918 : Guerre d’images – Images de guerre » a obtenu le label « Centenaire ».