Architecture

The Musée Würth France Erstein opened in January 2008 next to the headquarters of Würth France, in the western industrial area at Erstein in Alsace. Its aim is to provide access in France to the Würth collection, which is one of the leading corporate collections of modern and contemporary art in Europe.

The contrast between the two buildings (headquarter and museum) underpins the architectural project of the Lyon-based firms run by Jacques and Clément Vergély: the transparency of the glass building housing the headquarters forms a counterpoint to the opaque geometry of the museum’s rough-finished concrete walls.


The building consist on 3 rooms : the monumental nave on the ground floor and the two attractive spaces upstairs provide a total exhibition area of 800 m2. The technical lighting design was the work of Marc Fontoynont. His aim is to allow the maximum use of natural light in the galleries.

 This investment complements Würth France’s business presence with a cultural initiative and marks the group’s commitment in terms of regional development and bringing art to the widest possible audience.

Architecture

Le Musée Würth France Erstein a ouvert ses portes en janvier 2008 à côté du siège social de l’entreprise Würth France, dans la zone industrielle Ouest à Erstein en Alsace. Il est destiné à la diffusion en France de la Collection Würth, l’une des plus importantes collections d’entreprise d’art moderne et contemporain en Europe.

La confrontation entre les deux bâtiments, celui du siège de l’entreprise et celui du musée, sous-tend le programme architectural des cabinets lyonnais de Jacques et Clément Vergély : la transparence du vaisseau de verre du siège exprime un contrepoint à l’opaque géométrie des murs de béton brut du musée. 


L’édifice abrite 3 salles : une nef monumentale au rez-de-chaussée, et à l’étage, deux beaux espaces, pour une surface d’exposition totale de
800 m2. La conception technique de l’éclairage, imaginée par Marc Fontoynont, privilégie l’apport optimal de la lumière naturelle.

 À travers cet investissement, l’entreprise Würth France double son implantation économique d’une action culturelle et signe l’engagement du groupe en matière de développement des territoires et de diffusion de l’art au plus grand nombre.