Head to Foot

HEAD TO FOOT.

Human figures in the Würth Collection

 

Until the 7th January 2018


Through 130 paintings, drawings, sculptures and installations from the Würth Collection, the exhibition presents a fascinating vision of the representation of the human figure in art. The extensive selection of works, dating from the late 19th century up to the present day, encompasses major pieces from the Würth Collection as well as recent acquisitions.

Katsura FUNAKOSHI
Words Like a Mountain
2011
Würth Collection – Inv. 15131

Since time immemorial, portrayals of the human figure have always sought not only to represent its physiological reality, but also to ask questions about human nature through formal means. The human figure has been an essential and universal subject in the history of Western art – especially in the form of the portrait and the nude – and confirms the artist’s role as “creator” in the literal sense of the term, whilst allowing artists to investigate their place in the world. From the idealised bodies of Greek statuary to the body as experimental object in contemporary art, these representations have evolved constantly throughout history: following the lethal excesses of the twentieth century and the rise of the consumer society, people have developed a new relationship to the world, translated by a new perception of the body: a contemporary body seen as an adjustable package.

Andy WARHOL
Black Light Self-Portrait

1986
Würth Collection – Inv. 12152
© The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Inc. / ADAGP, Paris 2017

So what is now possible in terms of digital enhancement and surgical intervention has blurred the boundaries between what is natural and what has been transformed by human hand. More and more people no longer see their bodies as natural or divine gifts that should be accepted, but rather as upgradable units – consumer objects – that can be manipulated at will depending on a person’s bank balance or the talents of a surgeon. The current diktats and social norms relating to appearance are such that Body Mass Index (BMI) seems to have supplanted genuine well-being.

 

Claude Émile SCHUFFENECKER
Leaned nude – Nude woman sitting on a bed

1885
Collection Würth – Inv. 14229

The exhibition looks at themes as varied as the ideal body, its impermanence, the fragmented body, the portrait and the self-portrait, the eternal feminine and more, through the works of nearly 100 different artists, from Pablo Picasso to Georg Baselitz, by way of Andy Warhol, A.R. Penck, Marc Quinn, Jaume Plensa, Magdalena Abakanowicz and Gilbert & George.

De la tête aux pieds


DE LA TÊTE AUX PIEDS.

La figure humaine
dans la Collection Würth

Du 31 janvier 2017
au 10 septembre 2017


L’exposition propose à travers 130 peintures, dessins, sculptures et installations issus de la Collection Würth un propos passionnant sur la représentation de la figure humaine dans l’art. Le nombre important d’œuvres présentées, de la fin du 19ème siècle jusqu’à aujourd’hui, comprend des pièces majeures de la Collection Würth, ainsi que de récentes acquisitions.

Katsura FUNAKOSHI
Words Like a Mountain
Des mots comme une montagne

2011
Bois de camphrier peint, marbre, laiton, bronze et cuivre
Collection Würth – Inv. 15131

Depuis toujours les représentations de la figure humaine ne se sont pas seulement attachées à représenter une réalité physiologique, mais ont cherché aussi à interroger la nature humaine de manière formelle. Sujet essentiel et universel dans l’histoire de l’art occidental – notamment à travers l’art du portrait et du nu -, la figure humaine consacre l’artiste dans son rôle de « créateur » au sens littéral du terme et lui permet d’interroger sa place dans le monde. Du corps idéalisé de la statuaire grecque au corps-objet d’expérimentation dans l’art contemporain, cette représentation n’a cessé d’évoluer à travers l’histoire : après les débordements d’un XXème siècle meurtrier et la montée en puissance de la société de consommation, un nouveau rapport de l’homme au monde se manifeste, se traduisant par une nouvelle perception du corps : un corps contemporain envisagé comme une option modulable.

Andy WARHOL
Black Light Self-Portrait

Autoportrait à la lumière noire
1986
Polymère synthétique, sérigraphie et
peinture fluorescente sur toile apprêtée
Collection Würth – Inv. 12152
© The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts,
Inc. / ADAGP, Paris 2017

Aujourd’hui les possibilités de traitement numérique et chirurgical ont rendu floues les frontières entre ce qui est naturel et ce qui est transformé par la main de l’homme. De plus en plus de gens ne considèrent plus leur corps comme un cadeau divin ou naturel qu’il convient d’accepter, mais comme une masse évolutive – un objet de consommation – qu’on peut manipuler à souhait, en fonction de son porte-monnaie ou du talent d’un chirurgien. Les diktats et les normes sociales actuelles relatives à l’apparence sont telles que l’indice de masse corporelle (IMC) semble avoir pris le pas sur le bien-être réel.

Claude Émile SCHUFFENECKER
Nu accoudé – Femme nue assise sur un lit

1885
Huile sur toile
Collection Würth – Inv. 14229

L’exposition aborde des thématiques aussi variées que le corps idéal, son impermanence, le corps fragmenté, le portrait et l’autoportrait, l’éternel féminin, etc., à travers les œuvres de près de 100 artistes différents, de Pablo Picasso à Georg Baselitz, en passant par Andy Warhol, A.R. Penck, Marc Quinn, Jaume Plensa, Magdalena Abakanowicz ou Gilbert & George.